A woman looks at her laptop

Solution Workspace FAQ

This page will help you get answers to questions that come up as you navigate Solution Workspace.


If you’re working with a partner development manager (PDM) on your solution, some of these steps will be different or might not apply. Refer to this answer for guidance. 

Who can use Solution Workspace?

Your entire solution-building team can use Solution Workspace at the same time. Your marketing team can be active in one step while your engineering team works in another. Members of your team can mark steps as complete, so you can all stay up to date on what is being accomplished across the Build, Go to Market, and Sell lifecycle stages.

▲ Back to top

 

How can I see my solutions?

Navigate to the My Solutions page, and sign in by using your work account. After you’ve signed in, you’ll be able to view your existing solutions.

▲ Back to top

 

Can I use Solution Workspace if my organization is not onboarded to Partner Center?

Not currently.

Your organization must currently onboard to Partner Center, not Partner Membership Center, and you must use your work account to sign in. If you are not a member of Partner Center, learn more about creating an account at Create a Partner Center account.

▲ Back to top

 

I’m working with a PDM. How do I create a solution, change profile information, or delete a solution?

Your assigned PDM can help you create a solution in Solution Workspace and update the profile section, including the contacts and technologies associated with your solution. Work directly with your PDM to define the scope and details of your solution and share your solution with everyone who is working on the project. Together, your team and PDM can follow the personalized tasks to build your solution, publish it in Microsoft Azure Marketplace or Microsoft AppSource, and promote your solution.

If you no longer want to work on an active solution, reach out to your PDM to remove it. If you’ve completed a solution and no longer require access to the steps, tasks, or resources, contact your PDM to discuss opportunities to continue promoting your solution and growing your portfolio.

▲ Back to top

 

How do I enter my solution in Solution Workspace?

After you’ve signed in by using your work account, you’ll be able to create a solution. If you have no current solutions, you’ll have the opportunity to Watch demo or Create a solution near the top of the page. If you do have solutions, you’ll see only the Create a solution option near the top of the page, and your solutions will be located under the My solutions header.

In both instances, select the Create a solution option to get started. Answer a few questions on the solution creation page to get started on your checklist. If your solution changes, you can change the information later.

▲ Back to top

 

How do I delete or remove a solution?

To remove a solution, select the Delete this solution option on the solution details page. Deleting your solution will place it in a holding bin for three months before it is removed permanently. To restore your solution, notify support by selecting the Chat with an agent button.

▲ Back to top

 

Can I change information I entered about my solution?

Yes.

You can use the edit functionality beside the information you’d like to change in your solution. To edit the Solution description section, select its pencil icon. To edit the Products and solution areas section, select the pencil icon by either the Products or Solution areas section. Either of these actions will produce a detailed view in which you can edit your free text or selections. To edit the estimated availability date of your solution, select the calendar icon to access a calendar in which you can edit the date.

▲ Back to top

 

How can I see customized content?

The content in the lifecycle checklist is customized by the Solution type (application or service), Solution areas, and Products selected. The tasks necessary to complete these different types of solutions built on unique products are distinct, so the checklist reflects this customization. While some tasks might be universal, you would see a distinct list, depending on the information you enter while you create your solution.

The tasks collected from subject matter experts populate the checklist after you create your solution (or if you were to edit your Products and solution areas selections after creation). If you have different types of solutions or are building on different products, you might see distinct tasks for a certain solution type or product; the checklist captures highly curated and applicable steps and tasks targeted to solution type and products.

▲ Back to top

 

How do I add contacts to a solution?

To add contributors to a solution, create your solution first. After you land on the solution details page, you will see a Contacts section. Enter the work account of the contributor you would like to add, and select the +Invite button. This will produce an email with a prepopulated template, inviting the contributor to view your solution by way of a direct link.

▲ Back to top

 

How do I remove contacts from a solution?

To remove a contact, select the Remove link in the Contacts section of the solution details. This will remove the person immediately. You can add anyone back to a solution, should you need to do so later.

▲ Back to top

 

What are the differences among the lifecycle stages?

The progress tracker with the Build, Go to Market, and Sell stages will show you where you are in your solution development. Each lifecycle stage represents a high-level picture of where you are in your progress.

To learn more about each of the lifecycle stages, visit the tutorial page.

▲ Back to top

 

What is the difference between a step and a task?

While a solution lifecycle stage of Build, Go to Market, and Sell represents the high-level picture of where you are in your progress, steps are actionable suggestions toward helping you reach your goals. Each step is made up of smaller tasks, such as a set of resources or contacts with whom to chat to help propel you through the solution lifecycle.

Tasks can be touch points or support references to guide you through the stages and, ultimately, the lifecycle. Tasks in a step don't necessarily have to be completed in order, but each task will help you accomplish the larger step toward completing the lifecycle.

▲ Back to top

 

Can I still access resources in steps that I've already marked as complete?

Yes.

As you iterate on your solution, new information or a change in the solution can mean that you revisit steps or tasks that you've already marked as complete. To revisit a step or task, select the step to read through the resources or complete the actions with the changes that you have in mind.

▲ Back to top

 

Can I skip through steps in a lifecycle stage?

Yes.

You control when each of the stages in the lifecycle is complete. You might find that a step isn't relevant to your current solution, so you can leave it (or several steps) unselected and still close the stage. Please note that the behavior of the checklist is to bring you to the first incomplete step in the first incomplete stage.

You can always return to a step later if you want to complete it. You can indicate that a stage is complete, even if some steps are not complete, by selecting the Mark [Stage] complete check box.

 

▲ Back to top

Return to your solutions

Pick up where you left off and return to your solutions.