A woman having a conference call in her tablet at the office A woman having a conference call in her tablet at the office

Cloud Security specialization

Program Overview and Requirements

Program Overview

Showcase your organization's capabilities and proven experience implementing comprehensive protection across your customers' Microsoft Azure, hybrid, and multicloud environments by earning the Cloud Security specialization.

As the use of cloud services continues to grow, cyber risks and threats continue to evolve. There has been a 27 percent increase in cloud and SaaS threats over the last year alone,1 and 52 percent of customers cite data security concerns as a barrier to cloud expansion.2 Attacks are more frequent, more sophisticated, and more costly than ever, and it's likely the trend will continue.

Partners who earn an specialization will have a customer-facing label displayed on their business profile page and be prioritized in customer searches in Microsoft AppSource.


How do I apply?

Only administrators of an organization’s Microsoft partner account can submit an application for the Cloud Security specialization on behalf of the organization. If you have the appropriate role and access, you can apply by signing into Partner Center and navigating to your Partner Center dashboard > Membership > Specializations.

What are the requirements?

Eligible partners must meet the highest standards for service delivery and support. All requirements will be verified by Microsoft and/or a third-party vendor, either automatically or by manual review, and are subject to change.


Your organization must have an active Solutions Partner for Security designation.


Achieve a minimum Azure consumed revenue (ACR) for Security workloads of USD200,000 in the trailing 12-month (TTM) period.

We will only use Partner Admin Link (PAL) and CSP as the available partner attribution. 

Qualified products:
Cloud Security:

  • Microsoft Defender for Cloud

  • Network Security:

  • Azure Firewall
  • Azure Firewall Manager
  • Azure Web Application Firewall (WAF)
  • Azure Bastion

    ACR can be achieved through Digital Partner of Record, Partner Admin Link and Cloud Solution Provider. Government subscriptions (i.e. Fairfax) are not eligible for ACR via PAL association.

    Service Level 4:

  • Microsoft Defender for Cloud
  • Application Gateway WAF v2
  • WAF Application Gateway
  • Azure Active Directory B2C
  • Microsoft Entra
  • Microsoft Entra External ID
  • Azure Bastion
  • Azure DDOS Protection
  • Azure Firewall
  • Azure Firewall Manager
  • Azure Front Door Service
  • Azure Defender for IoT
  • Azure Dedicated HSM
  • Key Vault
  • Network Watcher
  • Azure Defender for App Service
  • Sentinel


    Your company must have at least six individuals pass the following exam: AZ-500 Exam AZ-500: Microsoft Azure Security Technologies - Learn | Microsoft Docs.
    Four individuals pass the following exam: SC-200 exam Exam SC-200: Microsoft Security Operations Analyst - Learn | Microsoft Docs.


    Provide three customer references that demonstrate your organization's ability to deploy Microsoft Security workloads. Review our customer reference guidelines before submitting.