A woman looks at her laptop

Solution Workspace FAQ

This page will help you get answers to questions that come up as you navigate Solution Workspace.

How can I see my solutions?

Navigate to the My Solutions page, and sign in by using your work account. After you’ve signed in, you’ll be able to view your existing solutions.

▲ Back to top

 

I have active solutions, but I don’t see them. How can I access them?

For digitally transitioned solutions, the people from your company who are working with Microsoft have been granted access to the solution. Note that you must be a member of the same Microsoft Partner Network organization and location that owns the solution. To view a solution, make sure that you appear on the solution as a contact.

▲ Back to top

 

Can I use Solution Workspace if my organization is not onboarded to Partner Center?

Not currently.

Your organization must currently onboard to Partner Center, not Partner Membership Center, and you must use your work account to sign in. If you are not a member of Partner Center, learn more about creating an account at Create a Partner Center account.

▲ Back to top

 

How do I create a solution?

After you’ve signed in by using your work account, you’ll be able to create a solution. If you have no current solutions, you’ll have the opportunity to Watch demo or Create a new solution near the top of the page. If you do have solutions, you’ll see only the Create a new solution option near the top of the page, and your solutions will be located under the My solutions header.

In both instances, select the Create a new solution option to get started. Answer a few questions on the solution creation page to get started on your checklist. If your solution changes, you can change the information later.

▲ Back to top

 

How do I delete or remove a solution?

To remove a solution, select the Delete this solution option on the solution details page. Deleting your solution will place it in a holding bin for three months before it is removed permanently. To restore your solution, notify support by selecting the Chat with an agent button.

▲ Back to top

 

Can I change information in a solution profile?

Yes.

You can use the edit functionality beside the information you’d like to change in your solution. To edit the Solution description section, select its pencil icon. To edit the Products and solution areas section, select the pencil icon by either the Products or Solution areas section. Either of these actions will produce a detailed view in which you can edit your free text or selections. To edit the estimated availability date of your solution, select the calendar icon to access a calendar in which you can edit the date.

▲ Back to top

 

How can I see customized content?

The content in the lifecycle checklist is customized by the Solution type (application or service), Solution areas, and Products selected. The tasks necessary to complete these different types of solutions built on unique products are distinct, so the checklist reflects this customization. While some tasks might be universal, you would see a distinct list, depending on the information you enter while you create your solution.

The tasks collected from subject matter experts populate the checklist after you create your solution (or if you were to edit your Products and solution areas selections after creation). If you have different types of solutions or are building on different products, you might see distinct tasks for a certain solution type or product; the checklist captures highly curated and applicable steps and tasks targeted to solution type and products.

▲ Back to top

 

How do I add contacts to a solution?

To add contributors to a solution, create your solution first. After you land on the solution details page, you will see a Contacts section. Enter the work account of the contributor you would like to add, and select the + Add button. This will produce an email with a prepopulated template, inviting the contributor to view your solution by way of a direct link. The contributor will be added to the list of contacts in a Pending state in the Contact type section. The first time they sign in, their status will change to Contributor.

▲ Back to top

 

How do I remove contacts from a solution?

To remove a contact, select the Remove link in the Contacts section of your solution details. This will remove the person immediately. You can add anyone back to a solution, should you need to do so later.

▲ Back to top

 

Why does an invited contact have 30 days to sign in to a solution before being removed from the list of contacts?

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) imposes a requirement to comply with several key principles, including (1) minimizing the collection and storage of personal data to that which is adequate and relevant for its intended purpose, and (2) limiting the storage of personal data. We must ensure to retain personal data only for as long as necessary to achieve the purposes for which it was collected.

▲ Back to top

 

What are the differences among the lifecycle stages?

The progress tracker with the Build, Go to Market, and Sell stages will show you where you are in your solution development. Each lifecycle stage represents a high-level picture of where you are in your progress.

To learn more about each of the lifecycle stages, visit the tutorial page.

▲ Back to top

 

What is the difference between a step and a task?

While a lifecycle stage represents the high-level picture of where you are in your progress, steps are actionable suggestions toward helping you reach your goals. Each step is made up of smaller tasks, such as a set of resources or contacts with whom to chat to help propel you through the solution.

Tasks can be touch points or support references to guide you through the stages and, ultimately, the lifecycle. Tasks in a step don't necessarily have to be completed in order, but each task will help you accomplish the larger step toward completing the lifecycle.

▲ Back to top

 

Can I still access resources in steps that I've already marked as complete?

Yes.

As you iterate on your solution, new information or a change in the solution can mean that you revisit steps or tasks that you've already marked as complete. To revisit a step or task, select the step to read through the resources or complete the actions with the changes that you have in mind.

▲ Back to top

 

Can I skip through steps in a lifecycle stage?

Yes.

You control when each of the stages in the lifecycle is complete. You might find that a step isn't relevant to your current solution, so you can leave it (or several steps) unselected and still close the stage. Please note that the behavior of the checklist is to bring you to the first incomplete step in the first incomplete stage.

You can always return to a step later if you want to complete it. You can indicate that a stage is complete, even if some steps are not complete, by selecting the Mark [Stage] complete check box.

 

▲ Back to top

Return to your solutions

Pick up where you left off and return to your solutions.